About Me

Here’s a 2020 resume in case you want to hire me for any reason:

Personal

  • 50 years old, married with three children
  • Brunswick resident since 2002

Education

  • JD, School of Law, UC Berkeley, California (1995)
    Juris Doctor
  • BA, Swarthmore College, Pennsylvania (1991)
    Political Science with concentrations in International Relations and Computer Science
  • High School, Highland High School, Salt Lake City, Utah (1987)

Work Experience

  • Co-Founder, Spark Applied Efficiency, South Portland, Maine (2014-2020)
  • Sustainability Consultant (various projects), Brunswick, Maine (2012-2014)
  • Sabbatical (with my family), Tokushima, Japan (2011-2012 academic year)
  • Founder, F.W. Horch Sustainable Goods & Supplies, Brunswick, Maine (2004-2011)
  • Project Coordinator, Maine Interfaith Power & Light, Brunswick, Maine (2002-2004)
  • Executive Director, EcoAccess (1999-2002)
  • Legal Counsel, TriNet Services, Raleigh, North Carolina (1995-1998)
  • Legal Editor and Researcher, Nolo Press, Berkeley, California (1994-1995)
  • Summer Law Clerk, Pacific Gas & Electric, San Francisco, California (1994)
  • Network Engineer and Technical Support, Sybex, Alemeda, California (1991-1992)
  • System Administrator, Swarthmore College Computer Science Department, Swarthmore, Pennsylvania (1989-1991)

Publications

Licenses and Memberships

  • Helper Electrician
  • Private Pilot
  • Rotarian, Rotary International
  • Attorney, North Carolina Bar Association (Inactive)

Community Service

  • Rotary Club of Brunswick, Board Member
  • Master Gardener Volunteer
  • Mid Coast Hunger Prevention Program, Former Board Member
  • NorthWest Brunswick Neighborhood Association, Former Board Member

Languages (Natural)

  • French and Spanish: limited comprehension (lived in France for six months and Chile for six months)
  • Russian: very limited (three semesters in college followed by one semester language study in Moscow in 1990)
  • Japanese: extremely limited (lived in Japan for 2011-2012 academic year)

Languages (Computer Programming)

  • JavaScript and Python: proficient
  • Shell scripts and Perl: reasonably proficient (worked as a sysadmin for several years in college and between college and law school)
  • C, Pascal, BASIC, LISP, assembler, various others: used in classwork for computer science degree and for hobby projects

Hobbies and Interests

  • Sustainability (transitioned our family to living carbon clean with electric heat, an electric car, and solar panels on our house; transitioning our yard to a permaculture garden)
  • Outdoor sports (skiing (grew up in Salt Lake City, Utah), hiking, kayaking, bicycling, soccer, etc.)
  • Politics (have run for partisan office several times)
  • Open source computer programming (have contributed to various projects)
  • Gardening and composting
  • Travel (have lived in France, Russia, Japan and Chile)
  • Investing (manage small family portfolio)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s